Steinbronn nabs Men's first All-Region Honors

Steinbronn nabs Men's first All-Region Honors

The 2017-18 Division II Region XI Men's Basketball All-Region teams were announced today. Iowa Lakes, Kirkwood, and Southwestern led all teams with two First Team honorees each, while DMACC, Ellsworth and Iowa Central each had one player make the All-Region First Team.

Sophomore Ethan Steinbronn represented Little Priest on the All-Region Second Team. The forward guard scored 16.1 points per game while shooting an impressive 52.9% from the field. Steinbronn also averaged 8.7 rebounds, and 1.4 blocks per game. He was named the ICCAC Men's Nov 6 - Nov 12, 2017 Player of the Week.

The 2017-18 ICCAC Player of the Year Tray Croft was tagged with First Team honors for the second time in as many seasons.  The sophomore guard from Anniston, Ala. was the conference leading scorer by a large margin. He poured in 32 points per game over 11 conference games. His play led the fifth-seeded Tritons to the Region XI Championship, knocking off Ellsworth and top-seeded Kirkwood on his way to Co-Tournament MVP. 

Croft shot over 50% from the field, nearly 45% from three and 84% from the line. He scored a career-high 54 points against Iowa Lakes on Feb. 28.

DMACC guard Wali Parks makes the First Team for the second consecutive season. The sophomore from Iowa City averaged 15.9 points per game along with 6.2 rebounds per game. Parks handled the ball often for the Bears as well and posted 2.8 assists per game, which led the team.

Sophomore Darius Lasley represented Ellsworth on the All-Region First Team. The guard scored a team-high 14.4 points per game while shooting an impressive 48.5% from the field. Lasley also averaged 3.9 rebounds, four assists and two steals per contest.

Iowa Lakes sophomores Kyle Beisch and Dennis Joiner made the All-Region First Team this season for the Lakers. Beisch, who made the First Team last season, finished the conference season averaging 17.8 points per game, which ranks third highest in the ICCAC. Joiner, who earned Second Team All-Region honors a year ago, posted 12.3 points and 4.4 rebounds per game.

Freshman Doug Wilson and sophomore Chris King represent Region XI regular season champion Kirkwood on this year's All-Region First Team. Wilson, a forward from Des Moines, led the conference with a shooting percentage of 68.3% while averaging 16.8 points and eight rebounds per conference game. King, a guard who earned Second Team honors last season, was the leading scorer behind Croft at 19 points per game.

Southwestern's Terence Shelby Jr. and Gatdoar Kueth earned First Team honors for the first time in their collegiate careers. The two led the Spartans to their second consecutive Region XI title, which before last season, they had not won since 1999.

Shelby, a redshirt sophomore, was the Spartans leading scorer in the conference, with 13. 5 points per game. Kueth was right behind at 12.5 points per game. Kueth joined Wilson as the only other freshman on First Team.



Position Name Class School Hometown
G Wali Parks SO DMACC Iowa City, IA
G Darius Lasley SO Ellsworth Tama, IA
G Tray Croft SO Iowa Central Anniston, AL
G Kyle Beisch SO Iowa Lakes Fort Dodge, IA
G Dennis Joiner SO Iowa Lakes Minneapolis, MN
F Doug Wilson FR Kirkwood Des Moines, IA
G Chris King SO Kirkwood Des Moines, IA
G Terence Shelby Jr.  SO Southwestern Peoria, IL
F Gatdoar Kueth FR Southwestern Des Moines, IA



Position Name Class School Hometown
G Lee Higgins FR DMACC Chicago, IL
F Tristan Forsyth FR Ellsworth Melbourne, Australia
F Dallas Bailey FR Iowa Central Denver, CO
G Streeter Mcllravy SO Iowa Lakes Solon, IA
G Bailey Kale FR Kirkwood La Crosse, WI
G Ethan Meeker SO Kirkwood Galesburg, IL
C Ethan Steinbronn SO Little Priest Maynard, IA
G Alijah Thomas SO Southwestern Des Moines, IA



Position Name Class School Hometown
G LJ Harris FR Ellsworth  
G Royshawn Webb FR Iowa Central Cedar Rapids, IA
G Christian Kyles FR Iowa Lakes Sioux City, IA
F Solomon Clayton FR Iowa Lakes Fort Dodge, IA
G Nick Wagner FR Iowa Lakes Galesville, WI
G/F Jaycob Payne SO NIACC West Haven, Utah
G Nick Wurm SO NIACC Adelaide, South Australia
F Chad Moran FR Southwestern Council Bluffs, IA


Coach of the Year: Bryan Petersen, Kirkwood
Player of the Year: Tray Croft, Iowa Central